Back to top
For immediate release
May 23, 2019 at 8:01am
For more information, contact
Julie Hasquet, (907) 762-4489

Chugach members elect directors

Chugach Electric Association, Inc. members re-elected Bettina Chastain and Harold Hollis to the utility’s Board of Directors. Election results were announced Tuesday night at the electric cooperative’s annual meeting held at the Dena’ina Civic and Convention Center. Bettina Chastain, Harold Hollis, Mitchell Roth and Ron Stafford ran for the two open seats. Directors Chastain and Hollis will serve four-year terms.

Of Chugach’s 69,320 members of record, 6,719—or 9.7 percent—cast ballots in the 2019 election. A total of 244 members registered at the meeting, with attendance estimated at between 450-500 people.

Director Chastain was first elected to the board in 2015. Director Hollis was appointed in July 2018, after former Director Sisi Cooper resigned from the board.

At this year’s annual meeting, Chugach members also approved two bylaw changes. The first clarified residency requirements for board members; the second expanded the number of trainings and educational conferences board members can attend annually while representing the cooperative. The Board of Directors elected new officers Wednesday night at a regularly-scheduled meeting. Bettina Chastain was re-elected Chair; Susan Reeves was re-elected Vice-Chair; Stuart Parks was re-elected Secretary; and Rachel Morse was re-elected Treasurer.

Chugach’s 2018 Annual Report is available and on-line at